Hello Loves!

I hope everyone is enjoying the weather. In the midwest, it was warm around 45 degrees and sunny–perfect day for a run! So, despite being awoken by loud 8th grade girls during my little sister’s sleepover last night, I laced up my running shoes after I woke up and left for a run.

Since getting the Forerunner for Xmas, I can ONLY finish a run at a mile mark. This mean, you can find me running up and down my street to finish the last .05 of a mile just to make it even! Can you say OCD?

Anyways, I did 5 miles in a little under 50 minutes, which was pretty good! Here’s what my splits looked like:

  • Mile 1: 10:12, 162bpm
  • Mile 2: 9:32, 170bpm
  • [INSERT INTERESTING ENCOUNTER HERE]
  • Mile 3: 9:37, 166bpm
  • Mile 4:9:52, 177bpm
  • Mile 5: 9:22, 177bpm
  • Avg pace: 9:43, avg HR: 170 bpm, Total cals burned: 467

At mile 2.5, I was near my high school track so I decided to run the stadium stairs. I only did them through once, but I noted my HR throughout. I got up to 182 when I did the stairs, which I was happy about!

Okay, so the interesting encounter…as I was leaving the track and getting ready to get back to my run, I decided to walk to the road then start running again. I saw a guy running and looking at me, so naturally I looked away haha because I like to avoid eye contact with cute guys (one of my many #singlegirlproblems). Then he smiled and waved, and I realized it was one of my good guy friends from high school! He goes to a school out on the West Coast now but is home for a few weeks for Xmas vaca. He actually used to hook up with my best friend in high school….I digress. Before I go into more details, how rediculous is it that the whole time all I could think about was how upset I was that I didn’t put any make up on before my run. Inside, I was secretly praying that there was still a smudge of eyeliner lingering from the night before…

AND I’m happy to report there was clearly some eyeliner left on my right eye (so the eye on your left). Okay but anyways, after I got over the initial SHOCK of not seeing him since the day of high school graduation (literally), we got to talking. He is also a med school hopeful like me and gladly shared with me his TWO acceptances into med school for next year. I cannot begin to explain my JEALOUSY. I’m not usually a jealous person but I just want to skip over all the MCAT and application stuff and go to med school already!

After then run, I did the Amanda Russell Hot Body Workout. It’s a quick 10 minute workout but it kicked my ass!

http://amanda-russell.com/videos/workouts/hot-body-workout/

**

Since I do enjoy going to Whole Paycheck Foods, I hit up the salad bar and got a late lunch. I inhaled ate it in the car on the way to the mall (note to self: work on mindful eating).

Above is mushroom and barley soup and a big mix of stuff from the salad bar. After that, I shopped for hours. Got some cute dresses at H&M, but Forever XXI disappointed me today. That store is always a hit or miss.

Hope you all are enjoying the last few days of 2011!

**

Are you a jealous person? Favorite thing at WF? How is it when you see old HS friends?

