Tags

, , ,

Hello!

So this was week one of the quarter and MAN IT WAS ROUGH. I am only taking 12 credit hours (physiology, molecule genetics and research) but between that, studying for the MCAT and my student organization (which I am HEAVILY involved in), I’ve been feeling run down. Each day, I spend about 2 hours doing things for my student org, 3-4 hours in the lab, 3 hours in class then before I know it, it’s 5pm and I’m exhausted and have a bunch of chapter of MCAT studying to do. Jesus..

My research I do is for my honors research thesis and it is nutrition research, so the cool thing is, it is actually a really interesting project. I am studying how different micronutrients effect transfacted adipocytes (fat cells) in females and males. Different genes are tagged for fluroesense and if they are expressed with the addition of specific micronutrients, they will glow the certain color. The genes I am studying are genes for pathways of inflammation, themogenesis (fat loss), and lipid production (fat gain). However it is much more complex than that, and right now we are in the early process of selecting a good clone the expresses the genes we want it to–it’s taking forever!

**

Today, I had a good run! It was beautiful out…high fifties! Total mileage today was 5 miles ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Mile 1: 8:26, 168bpm
  • Mile 2: 9:05, 177bpm
  • Mile 3: 9:07, 175bpm
  • Mile 4: 9:01, 171bpm
  • Mile 5: 8:25, 186bpm
  • Total Miles: 5, Avg Hr: 175bpm, 464 cals

Pretty pleased with that run! Now, if I can get myself to do some strength training that would be great. Currently I am cooling off lol

**

I did a few more workouts this week, and have found a KEY in keeping my energy higher during the days. I have class early in the mornings and some days I just don’t feel like eating breakfast. I started researching juices over break because I try not to drink my calories and honestly when I think of juice, I think of lots of sugars that will just spike my blood sugar and leave me famished after about an hour. However, I started finding some juices that also had vegetables that I usually don’t eat in my normal diet (like wheatgrass and sprirulla). So, I’ve been experiementing with juice! Sometimes, instead of breakfast I’ll drink a glass of juice while I’m getting ready. It’s soooo good and easy to drink while I’m doing my make up in the morning.

**

I also started using a meal planner to roughly plan my meals. It kind of worked, but needs a little work for next week. I just can’t tell you have many times I come home from the store and still feel like I have nothing to eat! Hah, so I found a cute template online and it separates the food into sections of the store for easy shopping ๐Ÿ™‚ Love it!

LOL I eat more than is on there–usually a mid morning snack, afternoon snack and before bed snack too! ๐Ÿ™‚

**

Well I’m off to clean my room and get ready to go out tonight. I am a busy girl, but I do need some down time with my friends at least once a week ๐Ÿ™‚

xoxo

Kaitlyn

**

Do you ever come home from the store and still feel like you have nothing? Do you plan out meals? Do you drink juice?ย 

